Main Content

Texas Disaster Declaration Amended To Include Additional Counties for Assistance to Infrastructure

Release date: 
December 22, 1998
Release Number: 

SAN ANTONIO, Texas -- As a result of damages caused by severe storms, flooding and tornadoes Oct. 17 through Nov. 15 additional state and local governments and certain private, nonprofit organizations are now eligible to apply for Public Assistance.

Public Assistance is now available to reimburse 75 percent of eligible costs for emergency services and debris removal as well as for repairs to roads and bridges, water control facilities, public buildings, public utilities and parks and recreational facilities in Grimes, Liberty, Matagorda, Nueces, Polk, San Jacinto, Trinity and Walker counties.

Government entities eligible to participate include state agencies, local governments, river authorities and Indian tribal organizations.

Eligible nonprofit organizations must have a tax-exempt ruling from the Internal Revenue Service or a nonprofit certification from the state. Organizations which may be eligible include educational, utilities, emergency, medical, rehabilitation, temporary and permanent custodial care facilities (including those for senior citizens, and those individuals with disabilities), museums, zoos, community centers, libraries, shelter workshops, homeless shelters and any health and safety service of a governmental nature.

Eligible Public Assistance/Infrastructure applicants may attend a briefing at a site most convenient to them. Briefings are set for:

Tuesday, Jan. 5, 1999,
8:30 a.m.
Walker County
1st National Bank,
6th Floor,
1300 11th Street,

Tuesday, Jan. 5, 1999,
1:00 p.m.
Liberty County
Flag Room Annex Building
2103 Cos Street,

Wed., Jan. 6, 1999,
8:30 a.m.
Matagorda County
Office Building
2200 7th Street,
Bay City

Wednesday, Jan. 6, 1999,
2:30 p.m.
Nueces County
Corpus Christi City Hall,
City-County EOC
1201 Leopard Street,
Corpus Christi


Last Updated: 
April 18, 2013 - 16:53
State/Tribal Government or Region: