Main Content

Deadline Nears for Applying for Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
December 21, 1998
Release Number: 

KANSAS CITY, Kan. -- Kansas disaster victims who have not yet registered for federal disaster assistance have only two more weeks to apply. January 4, 1999, is the last day to file applications for most disaster assistance programs, according to federal and state disaster recovery officials.

Homeowners, renters, farmers, agricultural producers and business owners who sustained damage from severe storms, flooding and tornadoes between October 30 and November 15, 1998, are encouraged to apply. Call the Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA) toll-free registration number at 1-800-462-9029 to register. Those with hearing- or speech-impairments can register by calling TTY 1-800-462-7585. The telephone numbers are operational from 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST, Monday through Friday.

Applicants may qualify for assistance under several federal and state programs such as disaster housing assistance, grants to meet disaster-related needs, U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) disaster loans, or farm loans from the Farm Service Agency. SBA loan applications must be completed and returned to the SBA by January 4, 1999. Businesses applying for Economic Injury Disaster Loans have until August 5, 1999 to apply.

"Even after the deadline, if you have questions about your application, FEMA will still be a telephone call away, " Carol Coleman, federal coordination officer said. Applicants may reach FEMA by calling the Helpline at 1-800-525-0321. Helpline representatives are available from 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., CST, Monday through Friday to answer questions about the assistance process or the status of applications. The TTY Helpline number is 1-800-660-8005.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: