New Counties Added to Disaster Declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
December 18, 1998
Release Number: 

SAN ANTONIO, Texas -- Individuals in Kendall, Lavaca, Jim Wells and Walker counties are now eligible to apply for state and federal disaster recovery assistance as a result of damages caused by severe storms, flooding and tornadoes occurring Oct. 17 through Nov. 15.

In response to the request of Texas Governor George W. Bush and upon recommendation of FEMA Director James Lee Witt, the additional four counties are now included in the Presidential disaster declaration issued Oct. 21.

Assistance may include funds for temporary rental assistance, minor emergency repairs to make a home safe, secure and sanitary, low-interest loans and grants for serious needs unmet by other government or volunteer agency programs.

To apply for state and federal disaster-recovery assistance, call the toll-free registration number, 1-800-462-9029 (TTY 1-800-462-7585) for speech- and hearing-impaired individuals) between 9 a.m. and 6 p.m. Monday through Saturday.

The deadline to apply for individuals in these four counties is Jan.21, 1999. This also is the deadline for individuals in Grimes, Harris, Liberty, Montgomery, Polk, San Jacinto, Trinity and Victoria counties.

Other counties previously included in the declaration are: Atascosa, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Blanco, Brazoria, Burleson, Caldwell, Calhoun, Colorado, Comal, DeWitt, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzales, Guadalupe, Hays, Jackson, Jefferson, Karnes, Matagorda, Medina, Nueces, Refugio, San Patricio, Travis, Waller, Wharton and Wilson. The deadline to apply is Monday, Dec. 21 in these counties.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top