Main Content

Grant Funds Require Application Forms

Main Content
Release date: 
December 17, 1998
Release Number: 

SAN ANTONIO, Texas -- Texans who have applied for disaster assistance and need more than temporary rental assistance or funds for minor home repairs are urged to complete and return their U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) loan applications as quickly as possible.

"Applicants who do not meet the income requirements to repay an SBA loan will be referred for a possible Individual and Family Grant," said Ed Laundy, State Coordinating Officer for the Texas Division of Emergency Management (DEM). "These grants provide funds for disaster-related serious needs not met by other government or volunteer agencies.

"Although submitting an application does not mean someone has to accept the loan if it is approved, it is important that people get their completed loan forms to SBA promptly," said Laundy. "The sooner people complete and return loan applications, the sooner financial assistance can be provided."

Applications must be returned no later than three weeks after the registration date. To date, SBA has approved more than $20 million in disaster loans for victims of the October and November flooding.

Individuals who have registered for assistance with Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and who have questions about their SBA applications should call 1-800-366-6303. For questions about all federal and state recovery assistance programs call the FEMA Helpline at 1-800 525-0321 (TTY 1-800-660-8005 for speech- or hearing-impaired individuals) from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Saturday.

Anyone who had damages or losses as a result of the floods and has not yet registered for assistance is urged to call the FEMA toll-free registration number at 1-800-462-9029 (TYY 1-800-462-7585) from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Saturday. The deadline to apply for help, and also the deadline to return the SBA packet, is Monday, Dec. 21 for the following counties: Atascosa, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Blanco, Brazoria, Burleson, Caldwell, Calhoun, Colorado, Comal, DeWitt, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzales, Guadalupe, Hayes, Jackson, Jefferson, Karnes, Matagorda, Medina, Nueces, Refugio, San Patricio, Travis, Waller, Wharton, and Wilson.

The deadline is Jan. 21 for Grimes, Harris, Liberty, Montgomery, Polk, San Jacinto, Trinity and Victoria counties.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top