Main Content

Federal Disaster Assistance Extended To Woodson County

Main Content
Release date: 
December 15, 1998
Release Number: 

KANSAS CITY, Kan. -- In response to Governor Bill Graves' request, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today that public assistance is now available to Woodson County.

Governments and eligible non-profit organizations in Woodson County are now eligible for federal assistance. This assistance may include 75% of the costs to repair and replace damaged infrastructure such as roads, bridges, utilities and public facilities to their pre-disaster condition. This assistance also includes money to reimburse eligible costs associated with emergency protective measures and debris removal.

With the addition of Woodson County, 15 Kansas counties are now eligible for public assistance. Those counties are: Butler, Chase,Coffey, Cowley, Franklin, Greenwood, Harper, Harvey, Lyon, Marion, Neosho, Saline, Sedgwick, Sumner, and Woodson.

Local governments will be able to apply at upcoming briefings; locations and times to be announced in the coming days.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: