Deadlines Set for Disaster Recovery Assistance Applications

Main Content
Release date: 
December 10, 1998
Release Number: 

SAN ANTONIO, Texas -- Deadlines for applying for disaster recovery assistance in central and southeast Texas have been set by federal and state officials. The dates are based on when damages were incurred.

At Governor Bush's request, President Clinton amended his disaster declaration following severe storms, floods and tornadoes that occurred Oct. 17-31 to include damages incurred during additional flooding through Nov. 15. This action extends the application deadline in Harris, Liberty, Montgomery, San Jacinto and Victoria counties, and adds three new counties--Grimes, Polk and Trinity. The deadline to apply in these eight counties is 6 p.m. Thursday, Jan. 21, 1999.

The application deadline is 6 p.m. Monday, Dec. 21, 1998 in 31 previously designated counties: Atascosa, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Blanco, Brazoria, Burleson, Caldwell, Calhoun, Colorado, Comal, DeWitt, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzales, Guadalupe, Hays, Jackson, Jefferson, Karnes, Matagorda, Medina, Nueces, Refugio, San Patricio, Travis, Waller, Wharton and Wilson.

With the first deadline less than two weeks away, recovery officials urge disaster victims to register for help right away so they may receive assistance as soon as possible. The toll-free teleregistration number is 1-800-462-9029, or for speech- or hearing-impaired individuals the number is 1-800-462-7585. It is answered 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Saturday and assistance is available in English, Spanish or other language of choice.

More than 22,000 disaster victims had applied by close of business Dec.9.

Individuals with questions about their applications will continue to be able to call the FEMA Helpline for answers. That number is 1-800-525-0321 (TTY 1-800-660-8005).

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top