Federal Disaster Assistance Expanded to More Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
December 4, 1998
Release Number: 

KANSAS CITY, Kan. -- In response to Governor Bill Graves' request, assistance available in six counties was expanded to include public assistance.

Governments and eligible non-profit organizations in Chase, Coffey, Franklin, Harvey, Lyon and Marion Counties are now eligible for federal assistance. This assistance may include 75% of the costs to repair and replace damaged infrastructure such as roads, bridges, utilities and public facilities to their pre-disaster condition. This assistance also includes money to reimburse eligible costs associated with emergency protective measures and debris removal.

Anyone who sustained damage from the floods, including farmers and business owners, that occurred between October 30 and November 15 should register with FEMA by calling the toll-free teleregistration number: 1-800-462-9029. TTY service is available at 1-800-462-7585 for anyone who is hearing or speech impaired. The registration numbers are available from 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. (CST), Monday through Friday.

Local governments will be able to apply at upcoming briefings; locations and times to be announced in the coming days.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top