Federal Disaster Assistance Extended to Four More Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
December 1, 1998
Release Number: 

KANSAS CITY, Kan. -- In response to Governor Bill Graves request, the counties of Johnson, Leavenworth, Marion, and Wyandotte were added to President Clinton's disaster declaration of November 5, 1998.

Homeowners, renters, farmers, agricultural producers, and business owners who sustained damage from severe storms and flooding are now eligible for federal assistance.

This assistance may include grants to help pay for temporary housing needs, minor home repairs, and other serious disaster-related expenses. Low interest loans from the U. S. Small Business Administration also may be available to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance.

Anyone who sustained damage from the flooding and severe storms which occurred between October 30 and November 15, 1998, should register with FEMA by calling the toll-free teleregistration number: 1-800-462-9029. TTY service is available at 1-800-462-7585 for anyone who is hearing- or speech-impaired. The registration numbers are available from 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. (CST), Monday through Friday.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top