Federal Disaster Assistance Expanded

Main Content
Release date: 
November 19, 1998
Release Number: 

KANSAS CITY, Kan. -- In response to Governor Bill Graves' request, Greenwood, Harper, and Saline Counties were added for Public Assistance to President Clinton's disaster declaration of November 5. Assistance available in Butler, Cowley Neosho, Sedgwick and Sumner Counties were expanded to include Public Assistance.

Public Assistance allows governments and eligible non-profit organizations in these counties to obtain assistance that may include reimbursement of 75% of the costs to replace or repair damaged infrastructure such as roads, bridges, utilities and public facilities to their pre-disaster condition. This assistance also includes money to reimburse eligible costs associated with emergency protective measures and debris removal.

Governments and eligible non-profit organizations will be able to apply at upcoming briefings; locations and times to be announced in the coming days.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top