Main Content

Four More Counties Included For Federal And State Disaster Recovery Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
November 17, 1998
Release Number: 

SAN ANTONIO, Texas -- Individuals who suffered damages during the Oct. 17-31 flooding in Blanco, Jefferson, Medina and San Patricio counties are now eligible to apply for disaster recovery assistance. This brings the number of counties eligible for a variety of federal and state assistance to 36.

Anyone who has suffered damages as a result of the flooding is encouraged to apply for disaster assistance by calling FEMA's toll-free registration number at: 1-800-462-9029. Those with hearing or speech impairments can register by calling 1-800-462-7585. The telephone numbers are operational from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. through Saturday, Nov. 21. Beginning Monday, Nov. 23, the hours are 9 a .m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Saturday.

The amendment means that renters, homeowners and business owners who suffered damages in those counties now can apply for help. They may be eligible for temporary rental assistance, funds for minimal emergency repairs, low-interest loans, and grants for serious needs and necessary expenses not covered by other federal, state or voluntary agency services.

The 36 counties included in the disaster declaration are: Atascosa, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Blanco, Brazoria, Burleson, Caldwell, Calhoun, Colorado, Comal, DeWitt, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzales, Guadalupe, Harris, Hays, Jackson, Jefferson, Karnes, Liberty, Matagorda, Medina, Montgomery, Nueces, Refugio, San Jacinto, San Patricio, Travis, Victoria, Waller, Wharton and Wilson.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: