Main Content

Disaster Application Deadline Announced

Main Content
Release date: 
November 17, 1998
Release Number: 

KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- December 14 is the last day that disaster assistance applications can be accepted for the October storms and flooding in Missouri and Kansas, according to federal and state disaster recovery officials.

President Clinton declared the region a disaster area on Oct. 14, because of severe storms and flooding. The declaration made available a variety of assistance programs to assist residents and business owners recover and rebuild.

To date, 2,771 Missourians and 1,617 Kansans living in the Kansas City area have applied for aid to assist in recovery from that disaster. Area counties designated by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) as eligible for disaster assistance to individuals and businesses are Carroll, Clay, Jackson, Platte and Ray in Missouri, and Douglas, Johnson, Leavenworth and Wyandotte in Kansas.

State and federal officials urge homeowners, renters and business owners in the designated counties to register before the Dec. 14 deadline by calling FEMA's toll-free registration number, 1-800-462-9029 and TTY: 1-800-462-7585 for the speech- or hearing-impaired. Missourians can register from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Friday. Kansans can register from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., seven days a week.

The Helpline number to call to check the status of an application or to get more program information is 1-800-525-0321 (TTY 1-800-660-8005). The Helpline is open Monday through Saturday from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top