Main Content

Toll-Free Disaster Registration Line Changes Hours of Operation for Kansas

Main Content
Release date: 
November 11, 1998
Release Number: 

KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA) toll-free registration line, established for those who were affected by the severe October storms and flooding, has changed its operating hours for applicants calling from Missouri.

According to Curt Musgrave, FEMA federal coordinating officer for Missouri, the line will operate from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday, effective immediately. Previously, the line had been open on Saturdays as well.

Meanwhile, in Kansas, registrations still will be taken from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., seven days a week, said Carol Coleman, FEMA's Kansas federal coordinating officer.

FEMA's toll-free registration number is 1-800-462-9029. For those who are hearing- or speech-impaired, the TTY number is 1-800-462-7585.

To register, applicants must be renters, homeowners or business owners who were impacted by the severe storms and flooding in early October and who are within disaster-designated counties. In Missouri, those counties are: Carroll, Clay, Jackson, Platte and Ray. The metro-area Kansas counties are: Douglas, Johnson, Leavenworth and Wyandotte.

As of Tuesday, Nov. 10, a total of 2,613 Missourians and 1,559 Kansans in the Kansas City metro area had applied for disaster assistance since President Clinton's Oct. 14 major disaster declarations for both states. So far, about $2.6 million in disaster housing assistance has been approved for eligible metro-area applicants. In addition, nearly $700,000 in Individual & Family Grants to help with serious, disaster-related needs not already covered by other programs, has been approved.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top