Federal Disaster Assistance Extended To Douglas County

Main Content
Release date: 
November 10, 1998
Release Number: 

KANSAS CITY, Kan. -- In response to Governor Bill Graves request, Douglas County was added to President Clinton's disaster declaration of November 5, 1998.

Homeowners, renters, farmers, agricultural producers, and business owners who sustained damage from severe storms and flooding are now eligible for federal assistance.

This assistance may include grants to help pay for temporary housing needs, minor home repairs, and other serious disaster-related expenses. Low interest loans from the U. S. Small Business Administration also may be available to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance.

Anyone who sustained damage from the flooding should register with FEMA by calling the toll-free teleregistration number: 1-800-462-9029. TTY service is available at 1-800-462-7585 for anyone who is hearing or speech impaired. The registration numbers are available from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. (CST), seven days a week until further notice.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top