Main Content

Federal Disaster Assistance Expanded to More Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
November 10, 1998
Release Number: 

KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- In response to Governor Bill Graves' request, Bourbon, Jackson, Linn, and Wabaunsee Counties were added for Public Assistance to President Clinton's disaster declaration of October 14. Assistance available in Leavenworth County was expanded to include Public Assistance.

Public Assistance allows governments and eligible non-profit organizations in these counties to obtain assistance that may include 75% of the costs to repair and replace damaged infrastructure such as roads, bridges, utilities and public facilities to their pre-disaster condition. This assistance also includes money to reimburse eligible costs associated with emergency protective measures and debris removal.

Governments and eligible non-profit organizations will be able to apply at upcoming briefings; locations and times to be announced in the coming days.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top