Main Content

Disaster Recovery Centers Opening In Hays And Travis Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
November 9, 1998
Release Number: 

SAN ANTONIO, Texas -- Disaster Recovery Centers are scheduled to open in Austin and San Marcos, Thursday, Nov. 12 to serve individuals and business owners affected by the Oct. 17-31 storms, the Texas Division of Emergency Management (DEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today.

"In an effort to support those who sustained flood damage, we are opening recovery centers in Hays and Travis counties," said Ed Laundy, state coordinating officer for DEM. "Individuals who have already registered with FEMA and need additional information about disaster assistance programs can find it there."

Disaster Recovery Centers offer disaster victims an opportunity to meet face-to-face with representatives from state, federal and volunteer agencies, as well as the U.S. Small Business Administration, and learn about the variety of programs available to begin their recovery process. For those who do not choose to visit a recovery center, FEMA operates a toll-free Helpline at 1-800-525-0321 (TTY: 1-800-660-8005), from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m., seven days a week.

The centers will operate Thursday, Nov. 12 through Saturday, Nov. 14, from 9 a.m to 7 p.m. at the following locations:

Austin San Marcos
SE Community Branch Library San Marcos Activity Center
5803 Nuckols Crossing Rd. 501 E. Hopkins

Individuals who suffered damages in the declared counties may apply for assistance by calling 1-800-462-9029 (TTY: 1-800-462-7585), 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., seven days a week.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top