Main Content

Disaster Recovery Center to Open in Augusta

Release date: 
November 7, 1998
Release Number: 

KANSAS CITY, Kan. -- State and federal officials have established a joint federal/state Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) in Augusta, Kansas. The DRC is located at:

Walnut Valley Manor
2100 N. Ohio
Augusta, Kansas 66106

The DRC will open to assist applicants on Monday, November 9. The DRC operating hours will be Monday through Saturday from 9:00 a.m. until 6:00 p.m.

The purpose of the DRC is to provide assistance and information to Kansans who have experienced damages and losses from the storms and flooding. Representatives of state, federal and voluntary agencies will be present. The disaster programs available include temporary housing, individual and family grants, disaster unemployment assistance, and other aid programs.

All homeowners, renters, and business owners, including farmers, and other agricultural producers who have sustained damages to their homes or personal property from the severe storms and flooding that started October 30, are encouraged to take the first step in applying for disaster assistance by calling the Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA) toll-free registration number at 1-800-462-9029. Those with hearing and speech impairments can register by calling 1-800-462-7585. The telephone numbers are operational from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. CST, seven days a week.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: