Assistance for October Storm Victims Tops $2.9 Million

Main Content
Release date: 
November 7, 1998
Release Number: 

KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- Federal, state, local and voluntary agencies are working in partnership to help Missouri and Kansas residents following the severe storms and flooding that occurred in both states in early October. The following is a summary of ongoing response and recovery efforts as of Nov. 6, 1998.


  • On Oct. 14, President Clinton signed major disaster declarations for Missouri and Kansas because of severe storms and flooding in early October. Since the original declaration, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has designated additional counties in both states as eligible for either Individual Assistance or Public Assistance or both.

  • In Kansas City and outlying areas, the counties designated by FEMA as eligible for disaster assistance to individuals and business owners are:

    MISSOURI: Carroll, Clay, Jackson, Platte and Ray
    KANSAS: Douglas, Johnson, Leavenworth, Seward and Wyandotte

  • Counties designated eligible for 75% federal reimbursement to communities for eligible costs associated with debris removal, emergency protective measures and the repair, restoration and replacement of disaster-damaged public facilities are:

    MISSOURI: Andrew, Barton, Caldwell, Carroll, Chariton, Clay, Dade, DeKalb, Jackson, Linn, Livingston, Macon, Miller, Moniteau, Morgan, Platte, Polk and Ray
    KANSAS: Cherokee, Franklin, Jefferson, Johnson, and Wyandotte


  • As of Friday, (Nov. 6) 2,490 Missourians and 1,493 Kansans in the Kansas City metropolitan area had applied for disaster assistance through FEMA's toll-free registration line. In that same time period, 62 applications had been received from Seward County.

  • The registration number is 1-800-462-9029. Persons with hearing or speech impairments can call TTY 1-800-462-7585. The registration lines are open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Saturday.

  • Disaster Housing checks, totaling more than $2.1 million, have been approved to assist Kansas City area storm victims in making minimal home repairs and/or to pay for temporary housing until repairs can be made. (Missouri - $1.3 million; Kansas - $888,860). Disaster housing checks generally are being issued seven to ten days after the application is received by FEMA.

  • Individuals and families in Kansas and Missouri are beginning to receive checks through the Individual and Family Grant Program (IFG). To date, grants amounting to $632,500 have been approved (Missouri - $492,000; Kansas - $133,000). IFG grants are designed to help with the costs of disaster-related needs not covered by insurance or other programs.

  • The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has approved 33 low-interest disaster loans, totaling more than $273,900 to Kansas and Missouri homeowners, renters and businesses who suffered losses due to the storms and flooding. (Missouri - $187,200; Kansas - $86,700). Recovery officials say loan applications should be completed and returned to the SBA as soon as possible, in order to speed the recovery assistance process.

  • Three Missouri counties, Barton, Chariton and Linn, this week became eligible to apply for state and federal disaster assistance to repair or replace infrastructure damaged by early October severe storms and flooding. FEMA Federal Coordinating Officer Curt Musgrave made the designations Nov. 3 following a review of additional damage information.

  • FEMA inspectors have completed more than 2,700 inspections of storm-damaged properties in Kansas and Missouri. The inspections, required to verify damages to determine eligibility for disaster housing assistance, are generally being completed three to five days after applications are received through the toll-free r...
Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top