Seven More Counties Included For Federal and State Disaster Recovery Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
November 6, 1998
Release Number: 

SAN ANTONIO, Texas -- Individuals who suffered damages during the Oct. 17-31 flooding in Atascosa, Brazoria, Galveston, Liberty, Matagorda, Nueces and San Jacinto counties are now eligible to apply for disaster-recovery assistance. This brings the number of counties now eligible for a variety of federal and state assistance to 32.

"Following assessment of additional information, the Oct. 21 Presidential Declaration has been amended to include seven additional counties," said Ed Laundy, state coordinating officer for the Texas Division of Emergency Management. "Renters, homeowners and business owners who suffered damages in those counties now can apply for help."

The amendment means that persons who sustained storm-related losses may be eligible for temporary rental assistance, funds for minimal emergency repairs, low-interest loans, and grants for serious needs and necessary expenses not covered by other federal, state or voluntary agency services.

"Damage assessment of all areas where flooding occurred will continue until we determine whether more counties or additional assistance may be included," said Robert E. Hendrix, federal coordinating officer for the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

The 32 counties included are: Atascosa, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Brazoria, Burleson, Caldwell, Calhoun, Colorado, Comal, DeWitt, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzales, Guadalupe, Harris, Hays, Jackson, Karnes, Liberty, Matagorda, Montgomery, Nueces, Refugio, San Jacinto, Travis, Victoria, Waller, Wharton and Wilson.

Anyone who has suffered damages as a result of the flooding is encouraged to apply for disaster assistance by calling FEMA's toll-free registration number at: 1-800-462-9029. Those with hearing or speech impairments can register by calling 1-800-462-7585. The telephone numbers will be operational from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., seven days a week until further notice.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top