Five Disaster Recovery Centers Open in Texas

Main Content
Release date: 
October 29, 1998
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- The State/Federal Disaster Field Office (DFO) for the recent Texas floods is now fully operational and the focus has shifted from disaster response to recovery. Five Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) opened on Oct. 28 in Cuero (DeWitt County), New Braunfels (Comal County), San Antonio (Bexar County), Victoria (Victoria County) and Wharton (Wharton County).

All rivers have fallen below flood stage at all locations except for the Guadalupe at DuPont. However, many rivers remain above bank-full levels. The Colorado River has receded enough at Victoria for houses to be inspected and deemed suitable for residents to return to their homes.

The American Red Cross (ARC) reports four shelters remain open, housing 231. To help with temporary housing needs, travel trailers are being purchased and manufactured housing is being brought into the impacted areas.

The US Army Corps of Engineers is providing engineering and environmental assessment of sites for manufactured temporary housing in Cuero (DeWitt County).

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top