Main Content

Residents and Businesses Now Eligible to Apply for Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
October 20, 1998
Release Number: 

KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- Residents and business owners in the City of St. Louis and St. Louis County who were affected by flooding July 10-31, 1998 now are eligible to apply for federal disaster assistance, according to state and federal recovery officials.

Registrations for disaster assistance can begin immediately by calling the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) at 1-800-462-9029. For those who are hearing or speech impaired, the number is 1-800-462-7585. The call is free and recovery specialists can take registrations from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., seven days a week until further notice.

Because of the heavy number of calls for assistance by disaster survivors in many other states, residents are asked to try again if they first get a busy signal. Callers should be prepared to provide the following information: name, social security number, income, insurance coverage, address of the damaged property and a phone number where they currently can be reached.

"We encourage those who have sustained damage to call and let us help with their recovery," said Curt Musgrave, FEMA federal coordinating officer.

The assistance programs include: grants for short-term rental needs; grants to make minimal home repairs; low-interest U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) loans to repair major damage and/or replace damaged personal property; grants to meet serious disaster-related needs not covered by other programs, and disaster unemployment assistance.

Musgrave added that renters, as well as homeowners, can apply for state and federal help.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: