National Protection Framework

Main Content

The purpose of this page is to provide information on the National Protection Framework. The National Incident Management System is intended to be used by the whole community. The intended audience for this page is individuals, families, communities, the private and nonprofit sectors, faith-based organizations, and local, state, tribal, territorial, insular area, and Federal governments.

National Protection Framework

Routine protective measures, such as locking up chemicals and monitoring computer systems, play a vital role in protecting our communities from terrorist attacks, natural disasters and other hazards.

Security-related activities form the basis of the first edition of the National Protection Framework. The Framework provides context for how the whole community works together and how protection relates to the other areas of national preparedness.

It is one of the five documents in a suite of National Planning Frameworks. Each Framework covers one preparedness mission area: Prevention, Protection, Mitigation, Response or Recovery.


Focus on Securing the Homeland

The Protection Framework covers the capabilities necessary to secure the homeland against acts of terrorism and manmade or natural disasters.

Protection is related to Prevention and Mitigation, with some key distinctions: Protection covers steady-state or enhanced steady-state activities for all kinds of hazards, while Prevention applies only to imminent terrorist threats. Mitigation and Protection both focus on activities we can do every day; however, Protection focuses on security and threat deterrence, while Mitigation is about creating resiliency. Another distinctive part of the Framework is its list of mission activities, which fall into three broad categories:

  • Community and Infrastructure Protection: Critical infrastructure protection, cybersecurity, defense against weapons of mass destruction (WMD) threats, defense of agriculture and food, and health security.
  • Transportation and Transborder Security: Border security, immigration security, maritime security and transportation security.
  • Protection of Key Leadership and Events.

Protection Core Capabilities

Core capabilities are the distinct elements needed to achieve the National Preparedness Goal. The Protection Framework describes each of its eleven core capabilities and lists critical tasks for each one. The capabilities, followed by a critical task example, are listed below.

  • Planning. Implement security, protection, resilience, and continuity plans and programs, train and exercise, and take corrective actions.
  • Public Information and Warning. Determine requirements for protection stakeholder information and information sharing.
  • Operational Coordination. Determine jurisdictional priorities, objectives, strategies and resource allocations.
  • Intelligence and Information Sharing. Adhere to appropriate mechanisms for safeguarding sensitive and classified information.
  • Interdiction and Disruption. Prevent movement and operation of terrorists into or within the United States and its territories.
  • Screening, Search and Detection. Develop and engage an observant nation (individuals, families, communities, and local, state, tribal and territorial government and private sector partners).
  • Access Control and Identity Verification. Control and limit access to critical locations and systems to authorized individuals carrying out legitimate activities.
  • Cybersecurity. Detect malicious activity and conduct technical countermeasures and mitigation activities.
  • Physical Protective Measures. Implement security training for workers, focused on awareness and response.
  • Risk Management for Protection Programs and Activities. Identify, implement and monitor risk management plans.
  • Supply Chain Integrity and Security. Analyze key dependencies and interdependencies related to supply chain operations.
Last Updated: 
03/19/2015 - 12:45
Back to Top