National Preparedness Assessment Division

Main Content


The National Preparedness Assessment Division (NPAD) has a mission to advance all hazards preparedness by assessing and communicating the investments, activities, and accomplishments as they relate to national preparedness. In addition to this mission, the directorate and division are driven also by legislative mandate, Presidential Policy Directive 8 (PPD-8) and The Post-Katrina Emergency Management Reform Act of 2006 (PKEMRA).

NPAD accomplishes this mission through the following objectives:

  1. Assessing Whole Community preparedness – Qualitative and quantitative assessment of the 31 core capabilities in the National Preparedness Goal for the Whole Community - Federal, State, local, Tribal, and territorial governments, private sector, non-government organizations, faith-based and community-based organizations and the American public.

  2. Developing preparedness assessment and analytical policy – Analyzing the targets, accomplishments, and gaps within the 31 core capabilities of the National Preparedness Goal.

  3. Developing standardized methods of preparedness data collection and assessment – Standardizing collection methods include determining necessary data—both existing as well desired—including a list of data sources, a process to continually review and update this list, and the ability to identify gaps in data collection and the means to fill the gap.  This process includes collaborating with stakeholders to develop data that is not currently collected.  Standardized assessment methodology ensures analytic consistency across the various datasets and the 31 core capabilities.  

  4. Developing and delivering national preparedness assessment-based reporting products – Drafting written and visual products that communicate National Preparedness to stakeholders throughout the Whole Community.

Last Updated: 
07/24/2014 - 16:00
Back to Top