Elevation Certificate

Main Content


A community's permit file must have an official record that shows new buildings and substantial improvements in all identified Special Flood Hazard Areas (SFHAs)are properly elevated. This elevation information is needed to show compliance with the floodplain management ordinance. FEMA encourages communities to use the Elevation Certificate developed by FEMA to fulfill this requirement since it also can be used by the property owner to obtain flood insurance. Communities participating in the Community Rating System (CRS) are required to use the FEMA Elevation Certificate.

National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) Requirement

Floodplain management criteria for floodprone areas

  • 60.3 (b) (5) Requirement to Obtain Lowest Floor Elevation in Zone A
  • 60.3 (e) (2) Requirement to Obtain Elevation of Lowest Horizontal Structural Member in Zone V


IS-9 Managing Floodplain Development Through The National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) (Pages 7-57, 7-58) (PDF 8MB, TXT 1MB) (entire document)

Online Elevation Certificate (FEMA 81-31)

Related Keywords

Community Rating System (CRS)
Lowest Floor

Last Updated: 
07/24/2014 - 16:00
Back to Top