National Dam Safety Review Board Members

Main Content

The Review Board advises FEMA’s Administrator in setting national dam safety priorities and considers the effects of national policy issues affecting dam safety. Review Board members include FEMA, the Chair of the Board and representatives from four federal agencies that serve on the Interagency Committee on Dam Safety (ICODS), five state dam safety officials and one member from the private sector.

View the list below of National Dam Safety Review Board Members and their associated agency and contact information.

National Dam Safety Review Board Members

William H. Allerton, william.allerton@ferc.gov
Director, Division of Dam Safety and Inspections; Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

Doug Bellomo – Chair, doug.bellomo@fema.dhs.gov
Risk Analysis Division Director; Federal Insurance and Mitigation Administration; DHS/FEMA

James W. Gallagher, Jr., P.E., James.Gallagher@des.nh.gov
Chief Engineer, Dam Bureau; New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services

David A. Gutierrez (Non-Federal Co-Chair – Research Workgroup), daveg@water.ca.gov
Chief, Division of Safety of Dams; California Department of Water Resources

Eric C. Halpin, P.E., Eric.C.Halpin@usace.army.mil
Special Assistant for Dam and LeveeSafety; Engineering and Construction; U.S. Army Corp of Engineers

Noller Herbert, noller.herbert@wdc.usda.gov
Director of Engineering; Engineering Division- USDA/Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS)

Michael Johnson, Ph.D., mjjohnson@azwater.gov
Assistant Director; Arizona Department of Water Resources; Engineering & Permits Division

Brian R. Long, brian.r.long@wv.gov
Program Manager; WV Department of Environmental Protection; Environment Enforcement/Dam Safety

Bruce C. Muller, Jr., bmuller@usbr.gov
Senior Advisor; Design, Estimates, Construction; Dam Safety Officer; U.S. Bureau of Reclamation

Mishelle Noble-Blair,  mnoble@fairfaxwater.org
Fairfax Water; (Non-voting Member)

John S. Wolfhope, jsw@freese.com
United States Society on Dams; (Private Sector Representative); Central Division Manager; Freese and Nichols, Inc.

 National Dam Safety Review Board Alternates

Brian Becker, bbecker@usbr.gov
Chief, Dam Safety Office; U.S. Bureau of Reclamation

David E. Capka (Federal Co-Chair – Research Workgroup), david.capka@ferc.gov
Deputy Director, Division of Dam Safety and Inspections; Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

Steve Durgin, Steve.Durgin@wdc.usda.gov
National Design Engineer; Engineering Division- USDA/Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS)

Barbara Schuelke, Barbara.R.Schuelke@usace.army.mil
Dam Safety Program Manager; U.S. Army Corp of Engineers

Constantine “Gus” Tjoumas, Gus.tjoumas1@verizon.net
United States Society on Dams; (Private Sector Alternate)

Agency Representatives

Mark E. Baker, Mark_E_Baker@nps.gov
Dam Safety Officer; National Park Service; Washington Support Office (WASO); Park Facility Management Division

Jennifer L. Dodd, PE, jldodd@tva.gov
GM, River Operations- Dam Safety ; Tennessee Valley Authority

Victor Hom, victor.hom@noaa.gov
Hydrologic Services Division; Office of Climate Water Weather Services; National Weather Service, NOAA, DOC

Brad Iarossi, Brad_Iarossi@fws.gov
Chief, Dam Bridge and Seismic Safety Branch; Division of Engineering; U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

George A. Kelley, PE, gakelle0@tva.gov
Sr. Manager Technical Services; Dam Safety Governance; Tennessee Valley Authority

Enrique E. Matheu, PhD, enrique.matheu@hq.dhs.gov
Chief, Critical Lifelines Branch; Sector Outreach and Programs Division; Office of Infrastructure Protection; National Protection and Programs Directorate; US Department of Homeland Security

Clifford C. Denning, cdenning@fs.fed.us
Dams and GeoTech Program Manager; U.S. Department of Agriculture; Forest Service


Workgroup Chairs (excluding NDSRB Members and Alternates)

Mark Slauter (Non-Federal Co-Chair- EAP Workgroup), Mark.Slauter@vdem.virginia.gov
IFLOWS Branch Chief; VA Department of Emergency Management

Rebecca Ragon (Chair – NID Workgroup), Rebecca.ragon@usace.army.mil          
National Inventory of Dams; U.S. Army Geospatial Center; U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Meg Richardson (Non-Federal Co-Chair – Communications and Outreach Workgroup), MRMq@pge.com
Manager; Power Generation – Public Safety; Pacific Gas and Electric Company

Paul Shannon (Federal Co-Chair – Communications and Outreach Workgroup), paul.shannon@ferc.gov
Branch Chief; Division of Dam Safety and Inspections; Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

Jason Sheeley (Federal Co-Chair – EAP Workgroup), jason.t.sheeley@usace.army.mil
Chief, Mapping Branch; U.S. Army Corps of Engineers; MMC Production Center

Jonathan Garton, P.E. (Chair – Training Workgroup), Jonathan.Garton@dnr.iowa.gov
Senior Dam Safety Engineer; Iowa Department of Natural Resources

FEMA STAFF

James E. Demby, Jr., james.demby@fema.dhs.gov
Assessment and Planning Section Branch; Risk Analysis Division
Federal Insurance and Mitigation Administration; DHS/FEMA

Karen Helbrecht, Karen.Helbrecht@fema.dhs.gov
Acting Chief, Assessment and Planning Branch; Risk Analysis Division
Federal Insurance and Mitigation Administration; DHS/FEMA

Cynthia Palmer, cynthia.palmer@fema.dhs.gov
Assessment and Planning Section Branch; Risk Analysis Division
Federal Insurance and Mitigation Administration; DHS

Melis Mull, Melis.Mull@fema.dhs.gov
Strategic Communications Branch; Federal Insurance and Mitigation Administration; DHS/FEMA

Lynda Pilgrim, Lynda.Pilgrim@fema.dhs.gov
OCC Mitigation Division Lead; FEMA; DHS

 

Last Updated: 
09/17/2014 - 16:43
Back to Top