Main Content

Multi-Hazard Mitigation Plan Status

Main Content

This page captures the current status of mitigation plans for communities across the nation. Local multi-hazard mitigation plans are essential in identifying and developing strategies to mitigate risks and vulnerabilities associated with disasters. This page is intended for mitigation planners, government officials and other individuals interested in understanding their community's mitigation plan status.

envelope icon Sign up to get Mitigation Planning email updates

    As of June 30, 2015, all 50 states, the District of Columbia and five territories (Guam, American Samoa, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico and U.S. Virgin Islands)* have FEMA-approved State Mitigation Plans. A total of 22,818 communities have FEMA-approved or approvable-pending-adoption local multi-hazard mitigation plans and an additional 146 Indian Tribal governments have FEMA-approved or approvable pending adoption Tribal Mitigation Plans. Communities and tribes with planned mitigation strategies include 77.58% of the nation's population.

    The national status map below is organized by jurisdiction and shows areas that have approved plans (green), plans approvable pending adoption (APA) (light green), plans that will expire within 90 days (yellow) and expired plans (red).

    Local Mitigation Plan Status as of March 31, 2015. The green areas reflect localities with an approved mitigation plan, Light green reflects localities with an approvable pending adoption mitigation plan, yellow reflects localities with plans that are expiring within 30 days, and localities in red have expired mitigation plans.  Increasing Resilience Together Logo and FEMA logo are displayed on the bottom of the map.

    * In 2008, the Marshall Islands (RMI) and the Federated States of Micronesia (FSM) were incorporated under a compact agreement between FEMA and the United States Agency for International Development (USAID) and the State Mitigation Plan requirement is optional for these territories.

    As of June 30, 2015, 12 states have FEMA-approved Enhanced State Mitigation Plans. States with Enhanced Mitigation Plans have demonstrated a comprehensive mitigation program and are eligible for an increased amount of mitigation funding following a disaster declaration. States with Enhanced Mitigation Plans as of June 30, 2015, are:

    • California
    • Florida
    • Georgia
    • Kentucky
    • Iowa
    • Missouri
    • Nevada
    • North Carolina
    • Ohio
    • Oregon
    • Washington
    • Wisconsin
    Last Updated: 
    09/21/2015 - 09:46
    Back to Top