Interagency Committee on Dam Safety Members

Main Content

ICODS was founded in 1980 to encourage the establishment and maintenance of effective federal programs, policies and guidelines to enhance dam safety and security. ICODS serves as the permanent forum for the coordination of federal activities in dam safety and security. FEMA also chairs ICODS.

View the list below of ICODS Board Members and their associated agency and contact information.

ICODS Members

Brian Becker, bbecker@usbr.gov
Chief, Dam Safety Office; U.S. Bureau of Reclamation

Doug Bellomo – Chair, doug.bellomo@fema.dhs.gov
Risk Analysis Division Director; Federal  Insurance and Mitigation Administration; DHS/FEMA

Jennifer Dodd, PE, jldodd@tva.gov
GM, River Operations- Dam Safety; Tennessee Valley Authority

David E. Capka, david.capka@ferc.gov
Deputy Director, Division of Dam Safety and Inspections; Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

Noller Herbert, noller.herbert@wdc.usda.gov
Director of Engineering; Engineering Division- USDA/Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS)

Kenneth J. Karwoski, kenneth.karwoski@nrc.gov
Dam Safety Officer; U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

Larry McCabe, Larry.mccabe@hq.doe.gov
Office of Health, Safety and Security; U.S. Department of Energy

Stanley J. Michalek, michalek.stanley@dol.gov
Dam Safety Officer; U.S Department of Labor, Mine Safety, and Health Administration

Carlos Pena, Jr., P.E., carlos.pena@ibwc.gov
Principal Engineer, Operations Department; U.S. Section, International Boundary and Water Commission

Barbara Schuelke, Barbara.R.Schuelke@usace.army.mil
Dam Safety Program Manager; U.S. Army Corp of Engineers

ICODS Alternates

William H. Allerton, william.allerton@ferc.gov
Director, Division of Dam Safety and Inspections; Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

Steve Durgin, Steve.Durgin@wdc.usda.gov
National Design Engineer; Engineering Division- USDA/Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS)

Eric C. Halpin, Eric.C.Halpin@hq02.usace.army.mil
Special Assistant for Dam Safety; Engineering and Construction; U.S. Army Corp of Engineers

George A. Kelley, PE, gakelle0@tva.gov
Sr. Manager Technical Services; Dam Safety Governance; Tennessee Valley Authority

Donald T. Kirkwood, Kirkwood.Donald@dol.gov
Chief, Mine Waste and Geotechnical Engineering Division; U.S Department of Labor, Mine Safety, and Health Administration

Bruce C. Muller, Jr., bmuller@usbr.gov
Senior Advisor; Design, Estimates, Construction; Dam Safety Officer; U.S. Bureau of Reclamation

Subir Sen, subir.sen@hq.doe.gov
Program Manager; Office of Health, Safety and Security; U.S. Department of Energy

Agency Representatives

Mark E. Baker, Mark_E_Baker@nps.gov
Dam Safety Officer; National Park Service; Washington Support Office; Park Facility Management Division

Jack Brynda, jbrynda@usbr.gov
Office of Security, Safety and Law Enforcement; U.S. Bureau of Reclamation

Marjorie Chiles, mdchiles@blm.gov
Dam Safety Officer; Bureau of Land Management

Clifford C. Denning, cdenning@fs.fed.us
Dams and GeoTech Program Manager; U.S. Department of Agriculture; Forest Service

Victor Hom, victor.hom@noaa.gov
Hydrologic Services Division; Office of Climate Water Weather Services; National Weather Service

Brad Iarossi, Brad_Iarossi@fws.gov
Chief, Dam Bridge and Seismic Safety Branch; Division of Engineering; U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

Enrique E. Matheu, PhD, enrique.matheu@hq.dhs.gov
Chief, Critical Lifelines Branch; Sector Outreach and Programs Division; Office of Infrastructure Protection; National Protection and Programs Directorate; U.S. Department of Homeland Security

FEMA Staff

James E. Demby, Jr., james.demby@fema.dhs.gov
Assessment and Planning Section Branch; Risk Analysis Division
Federal Insurance and Mitigation Administration; DHS/FEMA

Lynda Pilgrim, Lynda.Pilgrim@fema.dhs.gov
OCC Mitigation Division Lead; FEMA

Karen Helbrecht, Karen.Helbrecht@fema.dhs.gov
Acting Chief, Assessment and Planning Branch; Risk Analysis Division
Federal Insurance and Mitigation Administration; DHS/FEMA

Cynthia Palmer, cynthia.palmer@fema.dhs.gov
Assessment and Planning Section Branch; Risk Analysis Division
Federal Insurance and Mitigation Administration; DHS/FEMA

Last Updated: 
08/27/2014 - 14:41
Back to Top