Hazard Mitigation Planning Risk Assessment

Main Content

The risk assessment process provides the foundation for the rest of the mitigation planning process. The four basic components of the risk assessment are: 1) identify hazards; 2) profile hazard events; 3) inventory assets and 4) estimate losses. This process measures the potential loss of life, personal injury, economic injury and property damage resulting from natural hazards by assessing the vulnerability of people, buildings and infrastructure to natural hazards. While many data sources and tools are available at various levels of government, academia and the private sector, several options are listed below as a starting point for use in conducting a multi-hazard risk assessment.

envelope icon Sign up to get Mitigation Planning email updates







Last Updated: 
03/20/2015 - 11:22
Back to Top