Hazard Mitigation Assistance Mitigation Activity Eligibility

Main Content

Eligible Activities by Program

The Hazard Mitigation Assistance (HMA) Mitigation Activity Eligibility chart lists eligible mitigation activity types for the HMA grant programs.  A checked box (√) indicates activity eligibility under a program.  A grayed box indicates activity ineligibility under a program.  Submission of an eligible activity type does not guarantee an award by FEMA. 

For further definition of the activity types below, please see the eligible activity section of the HMA guidance or contact your FEMA Regional office

Eligible Activities by Program

Eligible Activities




1.   Mitigation Projects

Property Acquisition and Structure Demolition

Property Acquisition and Structure Relocation

Structure Elevation

Mitigation Reconstruction



Dry Floodproofing of Historic Residential Structures

Dry Floodproofing of Non-residential Structures

Minor Localized Flood Reduction Projects

Structural Retrofitting of Existing Buildings


Non-structural Retrofitting of Existing Buildings and Facilities

Safe Room Construction


Wind Retrofit for One- and Two-Family Residences


Infrastructure Retrofit

Soil Stabilization

Wildfire Mitigation


Post-Disaster Code Enforcement





5 Percent Initiative Projects



Advance Assistance



2. Hazard Mitigation Planning

3. Management Costs

Last Updated: 
07/24/2014 - 16:00
Back to Top