Building Science’s John Ingargiola Wins Prestigious Association of State Floodplain Managers Award

Main Content

At this year’s Association of State Floodplain Managers conference held last month in San Antonio, Texas, John Ingargiola, senior engineer and team leader with the Building Science Branch, Risk Reduction Division, received the John R. Sheaffer Award for Excellence in Floodproofing, for his career-long efforts to foster nonstructural flood mitigation.

Ingargiola is responsible for a wide-range of mitigation activities including: pre- and post- disaster building science activities, model-building codes and standards, the development of technical guidance for multi-hazard mitigation projects, and coordinating with both public and private sectors partners on building science matters.

As a long-standing member of association’s Non-Structural Floodproofing Committee, Ingargiola  originated the idea for, and oversaw the development of a flood-resistant design codemaster.  The significance of this concept and Ingargiola and his Team’s many other contributions to the work of the committee were highlighted recently at the 5th Annual National Floodproofing Conference and Exposition in Sacramento, Calif.

Last Updated: 
07/24/2014 - 16:00
Back to Top