District of Columbia (DC) Earthquake (DR-4044)

Incident period: August 23, 2011 to August 28, 2011
Major Disaster Declaration declared on November 8, 2011

Updates and Articles, Blogs, and News Releases

November 8, 2011
News Release
Following is a summary of key federal disaster aid programs that can be made available as needed and warranted under President Obama's major disaster declaration issued for the District of Columbia. Assistance for the District of Columbia Can Include as Required:
November 8, 2011
News Release
WASHINGTON, D.C. -- The U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced that federal aid has been made available to the District of Columbia to supplement recovery efforts in the area affected by an earthquake during the period of August 23-28, 2011. Federal funding is available to the District of Columbia and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the earthquake in the District of Columbia.
Main Content

Preliminary Damage Assessment

  • District of Columbia, FEMA-4044-DR (PDF 21KB)


State/Tribal Government: 
Back to Top