New Jersey Hurricane Irene (DR-4021)

Incident period: August 27, 2011 to September 5, 2011
Major Disaster Declaration declared on August 31, 2011

Updates and Articles, Blogs, and News Releases

September 2, 2011
News Release
TRENTON, N.J. -- Residents of five New Jersey counties who suffered damages from Hurricane Irene may be eligible for federal disaster assistance as a result of the presidential disaster declaration made Aug. 31, 2011. The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and New Jersey Office of Emergency Management (NJOEM) announced jointly that assistance has been made available to residents of Bergen, Essex, Morris, Passaic, and Somerset counties.
August 31, 2011
News Release
Following is a summary of key federal disaster aid programs that can be made available as needed and warranted under President Obama’s major disaster declaration issued for the State of New Jersey. Assistance for Affected Individuals and Families Can Include as Required:
August 31, 2011
News Release
WASHINGTON -- The U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced that federal aid has been made available to the State of New Jersey to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area affected by Hurricane Irene beginning on August 27, 2011, and continuing. The President's action makes federal funding available to affected individuals in Bergen, Essex, Morris, Passaic, and Somerset counties. 


Main Content

Preliminary Damage Assessment

  • New Jersey, FEMA-4021-DR (PDF 21KB)


FEMA Language Resources in  Haitian Creole, Hindi, Punjabi, Slavik, Urdu:

FEMA/SBA Partners in Recovery :

Learn how to register with FEMA for disaster assistance (video)

Para ayuda a raíz del desastre, llame al 1-800-621-3362 - Resources for Spanish Speakers (video)

State/Tribal Government: 
Back to Top