Nebraska Flooding (DR-4013)

Incident period: May 24, 2011 to August 1, 2011
Major Disaster Declaration declared on August 12, 2011

Updates and Articles, Blogs, and News Releases

August 25, 2011
News Release
LINCOLN, Neb. -- As the waters recede from this summer's floods along the Missouri River, survivors need to be aware of scammers looking to fraudulently benefit from the disaster. Survivors returning to their homes and other property may encounter people posing as inspectors, government officials or contractors. They may try to obtain personal information or collect payment for disaster assistance or repairs.
August 22, 2011
News Release
LINCOLN, Neb. -- Two Disaster Recovery Centers (DRC) operated by the state of Nebraska and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) open at 1 p.m. Tuesday in Blair and Tekamah to assist those affected by recent flooding. The Blair DRC will be at the Court House, 1555 Colfax St., Blair, NE, 68008. It will be open Tuesday from 1 p.m. to 7 p.m. and thereafter from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Monday through Saturday until further notice.
August 18, 2011
News Release
LINCOLN, Neb. -- In an effort to help people recover from flooding May 24 to August 1, 2011, community relations specialists from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) are contacting survivors throughout the disaster area to provide valuable information. People who sustained uninsured or underinsured losses in the nine designated counties may be eligible for federal-state assistance. The counties that are designated major disaster areas for Individual Assistances are: Boyd, Burt, Cass, Dakota, Dixon, Douglas, Knox, Sarpy and Washington.
August 17, 2011
News Release
LINCOLN, Neb -- After registering for FEMA assistance, you can expect visits from a variety of authorized agents who perform an important step moving your recovery process forward. Depending on individual situations those visits may be from a FEMA-contracted inspector, local insurance adjuster and local building and code inspector. The FEMA-contracted inspector will call to make an appointment to meet you at your damaged residence to verify your damages. It is important that you keep the appointment with the inspector.
August 16, 2011
News Release
LINCOLN, Neb -- Nebraska Emergency Management Agency and Federal Emergency Management Agency officials offer tips for registering for federal disaster assistance. Homeowners, renters, and business owners who had damage and loss from the May 24 to August 1, 2011 flooding should register for disaster assistance with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). Individual Assistance is available in: Boyd, Burt, Cass, Dakota, Dixon, Douglas, Knox, Sarpy and Washington Counties. There are several ways to register:
August 12, 2011
News Release
Following is a summary of key federal disaster aid programs that can be made available as needed and warranted under President Obama’s major disaster declaration issued for Nebraska. Assistance for Affected Individuals and Families Can Include as Required:


Main Content
State/Tribal Government: 
Back to Top