Initial Notice

Main Content
Date of Notice: 
Friday, April 2, 2004

Billing Code 9110-10


Federal Emergency Management Agency


North Dakota; Emergency and Related Determinations

AGENCY: Federal Emergency Management Agency, Emergency Preparedness and Response Directorate, Department of Homeland Security.

ACTION: Notice.

SUMMARY: This is a notice of the Presidential declaration of an emergency for the State of North Dakota (FEMA-3196-EM), dated April 2, 2004, and related determinations.

EFFECTIVE DATE: April 2, 2004.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Magda Ruiz, Recovery Division, Federal Emergency Management Agency, Washington, DC 20472, (202) 646-2705.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: Notice is hereby given that, in a letter dated April 2, 2004, the President declared an emergency declaration under the authority of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. ?? 5121-5206 (Stafford Act), as follows:

I have determined that the impact in certain areas of the State of North Dakota, resulting from the record snow on January 23-27, 2004, is of sufficient severity and magnitude to warrant an emergency declaration under the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. ?? 5121-5206 (Stafford Act). I, therefore, declare that such an emergency exists in the State of North Dakota.

In order to provide Federal assistance, you are hereby authorized to allocate from funds available for these purposes, such amounts as you find necessary for Federal disaster assistance and administrative expenses.

You are authorized to provide emergency protective measures under the Public Assistance program to save lives, protect public health and safety, and property. Other forms of assistance under Title V of the Stafford Act may be added at a later date, as you deem appropriate. You are further authorized to provide this emergency assistance in the affected areas for a period of 48 hours. You may extend the period of assistance, as warranted. This assistance excludes regular time costs for sub-grantees' regular employees. Assistance under this emergency is authorized at 75 percent Federal funding for eligible costs.

The North Dakota Division of Emergency Management (DEM) will manage the Public Assistance operation, including project eligibility reviews, process control, and resource allocation. The Department of Homeland Security, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), will retain obligation authority, the final approval of environmental and historic preservation reviews, and will assist the North Dakota DEM to the extent that such assistance is requested by the DEM.

Further, you are authorized to make changes to this declaration to the extent allowable under the Stafford Act.
The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) hereby gives notice that pursuant to the authority vested in the Under Secretary for Emergency Preparedness and Response, Department of Homeland Security, under Executive Order 12148, as amended, Anthony Russell, of FEMA is appointed to act as the Federal Coordinating Officer for this declared emergency.

I do hereby determine the following areas of the State of North Dakota to have been affected adversely by this declared emergency:

Dunn, McHenry, McKenzie, McLean, Mercer, and Ward Counties, and the Fort Berthold Indian Reservation for emergency protective measures (Category B) under the Public Assistance program for a period of 48 hours.
(Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance No. 97.036, Disaster Assistance.)

Michael D. Brown,
Under Secretary,
Emergency Preparedness and Response,

Last Updated: 
07/17/2012 - 00:08
Back to Top