Main Content

News: Ohio Power Outage

October 3, 2003
News Release
Akron, OH - Disaster assistance for Ashland, Ashtabula, Erie, Geauga, Huron, Knox, Lake, Lorain, Lucas, Portage, Summit, and Trumbull Counties has been approved to aid local governments affected by the recent blackout in Ohio, the head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today. Cuyahoga County had been previously designated for federal and state assistance on September 24.
September 24, 2003
News Release
Washington, DC - The head of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today that President Bush has authorized the release of limited emergency funds for Ohio to help cover some of the costs incurred in responding to last month's power outage.