Main Content

News: Florida Okeechobee Fire Complex

April 16, 1999
News Release
WASHINGTON, D.C. -- FEMA released four fire suppression grants yesterday to help Florida state officials battling a series of wildfires. The grants help cover fire fighting costs for the Okeechobee Complex, the Wacasassa Complex, the Caloosahatchee Complex and the Orlando Complex wildfires. The fires are impacting 18 counties. These include Alachua, Brevard, Collier, Gilchrist, Glades, Hendry, Highland, Indian River, Lee, Levy, Marion, Martin, Okeechobee, Orange, Osceola, Putnam, St. Lucie and Seminole counties.