Iowa Flooding (DR-1998)

Incident period: May 25, 2011 to August 1, 2011
Major Disaster Declaration declared on June 27, 2011

Updates and Articles, Blogs, and News Releases

November 7, 2011
News Release
WEST DES MOINES, IOWA -- Recipients of Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) disaster assistance grants do not pay additional taxes, lose their Social Security or disability benefits, or face a reduction in benefits from any other income-based program.
November 2, 2011
News Release
West Des Moines, Iowa -- New hours of operation begin on Monday, November 7th at the three Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and Iowa Homeland Security Emergency Management Division (HSEMD) Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) serving springtime flooding disaster survivors in Fremont, Harrison, Mills, Monona and Pottawattamie counties. New DRC hours beginning on Monday, November 7th are:
June 27, 2011
News Release
Following is a summary of key federal disaster aid programs that can be made available as needed and warranted under President Obama’s major disaster declaration issued for Iowa. Assistance for the State and Affected Local Governments Can Include as Required:
June 27, 2011
News Release
WASHINGTON -- The U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced that federal disaster aid has been made available to Iowa to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by flooding beginning on May 25, 2011, and continuing. 


Main Content
State/Tribal Government: 
Back to Top