Iowa Flooding (DR-1998)

Incident period: May 25, 2011 to August 1, 2011
Major Disaster Declaration declared on June 27, 2011

Updates and Articles, Blogs, and News Releases

December 19, 2011
News Release
Kansas City, Mo. -- Iowans in five western counties impacted by severe flooding from May 25 to August 1, 2011 will have two more weeks to register for disaster assistance, state and federal recovery officials announced Monday.   The new deadline to register for assistance is January 3, 2012, and applies to residents in the Iowa counties of Pottawattamie, Mills, Monona, Fremont and Harrison. 
November 22, 2011
News Release
WEST DES MOINES, IOWA -- After a disaster, contractors play a major role in rebuilding an affected community. They can also give the local economy a major boost as they construct new homes and businesses. At the same time, consumers need to be aware that occasionally scam artists masquerade as legitimate contractors in the wake of a disaster. Some might offer to clean up your debris, but then dump it nearby, leaving you liable for the cleanup. Others might demand a big deposit up front to rebuild a home, and then vanish with your money.
November 18, 2011
News Release
WEST DES MOINES, IOWA, -- Disaster survivors, after registering for disaster assistance with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), sometimes receive a FEMA denial letter in the mail stating "ineligible." If this happens, do not be alarmed or discouraged.
November 17, 2011
News Release
WEST DES MOINES, IOWA -- In the wake of a flood, information becomes as important as food and water to disaster survivors, as well as aid needed to recover.
November 16, 2011
News Release
WEST DES MOINES, IOWA -- Children can be particularly vulnerable to the stressful effects of a disaster. Parents, teachers and caregivers need to be alert to signs. For children ages 5 or younger, watch for behaviors like crying more frequently, clinging, having nightmares, fear of the dark, of animals, of being alone, a change in appetite, difficulty expressing feelings, or a return to outgrown behaviors, such as bed-wetting or thumb-sucking.
November 15, 2011
News Release
WEST DES MOINES, IOWA -- After a disaster, those impacted may become eligible for federal and state help. Residents and business owners in Fremont, Harrison, Mills, Monona and Pottawattamie counties, who suffered losses and damage in the wake of the 2011 Missouri River flooding, should register with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to find out if they are eligible for disaster assistance. To dispel misconceptions about the process, here are a few commonly asked questions and answers:


Main Content
State/Tribal Government: 
Back to Top