Iowa Severe Storms, Flooding, and Tornadoes (DR-1930)

Incident period: June 1, 2010 to August 31, 2010
Major Disaster Declaration declared on July 29, 2010

Updates and Articles, Blogs, and News Releases

September 17, 2010
News Release
WEST DES MOINES, Iowa -- A federal/state Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) in Webster County will open Monday, Sept. 20, 2010 at 9 a.m., to assist individuals, households and businesses affected by Iowa’s severe storms, tornados and flooding June 1 through Aug. 31, 2010. The DRC will be located at the Crossroads Mall, 217 S. 25th St., Suite C-3, Ft. Dodge, Iowa 50501. Those affected by the disaster may visit any DRC in Iowa: Black Hawk1407 Independence Ave.Waterloo, Iowa 50703
September 16, 2010
News Release
WEST DES MOINES, Iowa -- Do you know if there is a flood threat near your home or business? If not, there is a new and simple way to find out. Visit the Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA) website.
September 14, 2010
News Release
WEST DES MOINES, Iowa -- Hours at Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) across Iowa will change this week, the Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management (HSEMD) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today. To date, 2,125 survivors of this summer’s severe storms, tornadoes and flooding have been served at DRCs across the state. Starting this week, the centers will not be open Sundays. Until further notice, new hours at the 10 current locations will be: Monday through Friday: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.Saturday: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
September 13, 2010
News Release
WEST DES MOINES, Iowa -- State and federal officials have announced the Jasper County Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) at 114 N. Walnut in Colfax will close at 5 p.m. on Saturday, Sept. 18. After Sept.18, those affected by the disaster, including Jasper county residents, may visit any DRC at the following locations until further notice: Black Hawk County1407 Independence Ave.Waterloo, IA  50703 Cherokee County                              530 W. Bluff St.Cherokee, Iowa 51012
September 13, 2010
News Release
West Des Moines, Iowa -- The U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Iowa Homeland Security & Emergency Management Division (HSEMD) announced today that an additional county affected by the severe storms, flooding and tornados occurring from June 1 through Aug. 31, 2010, is now eligible for disaster infrastructure assistance. Henry County has been added to the July 29, 2010, major disaster declaration.
September 11, 2010
News Release
WEST DES MOINES, Iowa -- In one month since the disaster declaration requested by Iowa Governor Chet Culver was issued on August 14, 2010, $16,234,854 has been approved to individuals and households who have registered in the 32 counties that suffered damages between June 1 and Aug. 31, 2010. Individual and Households Program The Individual and Households Program includes Housing Assistance and Other Needs Assistance.


Main Content


Preliminary Damage Assessment

  • Iowa, FEMA-1930-DR (PDF 22KB)
State/Tribal Government: 
Back to Top