Mississippi Severe Storms, Tornadoes, and Flooding (DR-1916)

Incident period: May 1, 2010 to May 2, 2010
Major Disaster Declaration declared on May 14, 2010

Updates and Articles, Blogs, and News Releases

June 1, 2010
News Release
CLINTON, Miss. -- Officials from the Mississippi Emergency Management Agency and Federal Emergency Management Agency announced today that disaster assistance approved following the May 1-2 storms and flooding has expanded to Panola County. The assistance is designed to help pay for emergency measures taken as a result of the disaster. It also helps fund repairs, restoration, or replacement of public facilities damaged or destroyed by the disaster. Towns, cities, other government entities and certain private nonprofits may apply to MEMA for help.
June 1, 2010
News Release
CLINTON, Miss. -- Taxpaying survivors of spring storms in 13 Mississippi counties declared by the President as major disaster areas may receive speedier federal tax refunds, avoid penalties for late filings, or take advantage of extended filing deadlines, according to the Internal Revenue Service.
May 28, 2010
News Release
CLINTON, Miss. -- Mississippians who are repairing or rebuilding after recent severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding are facing many choices – and opportunities – regarding how they put the pieces of their homes and lives back together. Mississippi Emergency Management Agency and Federal Emergency Management Agency officials are hoping that some of those choices will include proven techniques that can help reduce or prevent future storm damage.
May 27, 2010
News Release
CLINTON, Miss. -- Mitigation specialists from the Federal Emergency Management Agency are continuing to offer free rebuilding and disaster-resistance advice to Mississippi residents. Beginning Friday, May 28, the FEMA advisors will staff an informational display at: Lowe's of Corinth1800 South ParkwayCorinth, Miss. 38834 The display will be open 10 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. Friday, May 28; 8 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. Saturday, May 29, and Sunday, May 30; and 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. Tuesday, June 1.  Another display will be at:
May 24, 2010
News Release
CLINTON, Miss. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency has amended the May 14 major disaster declaration following the May 1-2 storms, tornadoes and flooding in northern Mississippi to add Marshall and Union counties to receive Public Assistance. 
May 24, 2010
News Release
CLINTON, Miss. -- Disaster assistance applicants who received a U.S. Small Business Administration disaster loan application should fill it out - even if they do not want a loan. A completed loan application is the gateway to determining the type of assistance for which a homeowner or renter may be eligible. The SBA provides low-interest loans to help cover the cost of repairing or replacing lost or damaged structures and personal property.


Main Content

How to Apply for Assistance

» Apply Online
» Call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) / 1-800-462-7585 (TTY)

» What is Disaster Assistance
» Individual Assistance
» Hazard Mitigation

Preliminary Damage Assessment

  • Mississippi, FEMA-1916-DR (PDF 18KB)
State/Tribal Government: 
Back to Top