Mississippi Severe Storms, Tornadoes, and Flooding (DR-1906)

Incident period: April 23, 2010 to April 24, 2010
Major Disaster Declaration declared on April 29, 2010

Updates and Articles, Blogs, and News Releases

May 9, 2010
News Release
CLINTON, Miss. -- Mississippians affected by the severe tornadoes of April 23 and 24 are urged to be alert for potential fraud as recovery and rebuilding efforts move forward. If fraudulent activity is suspected on the part of a contractor or inspector, people should call the FEMA Disaster Fraud Hotline toll-free at 866-720-5721. Complaints also may be made to local law-enforcement agencies and to the Mississippi Attorney General’s Office at 800-281-4418.
May 8, 2010
News Release
CLINTON, Miss. -- More than $1 million in federal disaster aid, including housing assistance, has been approved in the last 10 days to help people recover from losses caused by severe storms and tornadoes across Mississippi that resulted in a major disaster declaration by the president. The help targeted people eligible for Individual Assistance in disaster-designated counties, which are: Attala, Choctaw, Holmes, Monroe, Oktibbeha, Union, Warren and Yazoo.
May 8, 2010
News Release
CLINTON, Miss. -- The Disaster Recovery Center in Lexington will close Sunday as traffic to the location has significantly slowed, the Mississippi Emergency Management Agency and Federal Emergency Management Agency announced today. Disaster recovery officials stressed that person-to-person help is still available at six other Disaster Recovery Centers open in the state, including a nearby location at the Ebenezer Voluntary Fire Station in Holmes County.
May 7, 2010
News Release
CLINTON, Miss. -- Inspectors contracted by the Federal Emergency Management Agency are contacting Mississippi disaster assistance applicants who sustained damage from tornadoes, storms and flooding April 23-24. These inspectors will have approved FEMA identification that includes their name and photo and the name of their company under contract with FEMA. They will ask for information to verify your name and address and registration with FEMA.  They will NOT ask for a Social Security number nor ask to be paid for the inspection.
May 7, 2010
News Release
CLINTON, Miss. -- State and federal help for tornado storm survivors is available – but only if they apply for assistance. People suffering losses in eight Mississippi counties designated as disaster areas resulting from tornadoes and other severe weather of April 23-24 are encouraged to register for assistance as soon as possible. Being proactive and taking charge can help speed the possibility of receiving help from the Mississippi Emergency Management Agency and Federal Emergency Management Agency.
May 4, 2010
News Release
JACKSON, Miss. -- Six Disaster Recovery Centers set up by the Mississippi Emergency Management Agency and the Federal Emergency Management Agency are now open in the state's tornado-affected counties. Sites in Attala, Choctaw, Holmes, Warren and Yazoo counties have received more than 500 visits so far. Plans are also being finalized for additional recovery centers in Monroe and Union counties. Details will be announced soon.


Main Content

How to Apply for Assistance

» Apply Online
» Call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) / 1-800-462-7585 (TTY)

» What is Disaster Assistance
» Individual Assistance
» Hazard Mitigation

Preliminary Damage Assessment

  • Mississippi, FEMA-1906-DR (PDF 20KB)
State/Tribal Government: 
Back to Top