Arkansas Severe Storms, Tornadoes, and Flooding (DR-1861)

Incident period: October 29, 2009 to November 8, 2009
Major Disaster Declaration declared on December 3, 2009

Updates and Articles, Blogs, and News Releases

December 17, 2009
News Release
NORTH LITTLE ROCK, Ark. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has amended the Dec. 3 major disaster declaration for 37 Arkansas counties struck by severe storms, tornadoes and flooding beginning on Oct. 29, 2009, to add Drew County for Public Assistance. The incident period closed on Nov. 8.
December 3, 2009
News Release
Following is a summary of key federal disaster aid programs that can be made available as needed and warranted under President Obama’s major disaster declaration issued for Arkansas. Assistance for the State and Affected Local Governments Can Include as Required:
December 3, 2009
News Release
WASHINGTON, D.C. -- The head of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced that federal disaster aid has been made available for Arkansas to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding beginning on October 29, 2009, and continuing.


Main Content

Preliminary Damage Assessment

  • Arkansas, FEMA-1861-DR (PDF 48KB)
State/Tribal Government: 
Back to Top