Initial Notice

Main Content
Date of Notice: 
Wednesday, June 24, 2009

Billing Code 9111-23-P


Federal Emergency Management Agency

[Internal Agency Docket No. FEMA-1848-DR]

Docket ID FEMA-2008-0018

Kansas; Major Disaster and Related Determinations

AGENCY: ?Federal Emergency Management Agency, DHS.

ACTION: ?Notice.

SUMMARY: ?This is a notice of the Presidential declaration of a major disaster for the State of Kansas (FEMA-1848-DR), dated June 24, 2009, and related determinations.

EFFECTIVE DATE: ?June 24, 2009.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: ?Peggy Miller, Disaster Assistance Directorate, Federal Emergency Manage?ment Agency, 500 C Street, SW, Washington, DC? 20472, (202) 646-3886.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION:? Notice is hereby given that, in a letter dated June 24, 2009, the President issued a major disaster declaration under the authority of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. 5121 et seq. (the ?Stafford Act?), as follows:

I have determined that the damage in certain areas of the State of Kansas resulting from a severe winter storm and record and near record snow during the period of March 26-29, 2009, is of sufficient severity and magnitude to warrant a major disaster declaration under the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. 5121 et seq. (the ?Stafford Act?). Therefore, I declare that such a major disaster exists in the State of Kansas.

In order to provide Federal assistance, you are hereby authorized to allocate from funds available for these purposes such amounts as you find necessary for Federal disaster assistance and administrative expenses.

You are authorized to provide Public Assistance in the designated areas; assistance for emergency protective measures (Public Assistance Category B), including snow removal for any-continuous 48-hour period during or proximate to the incident period in the designated areas; Hazard Mitigation throughout the State; and any other forms of assistance under the Stafford Act that you deem appropriate. ?Consistent with the requirement that Federal assistance is supplemental, any Federal funds provided under the Stafford Act for Public Assistance and Hazard Mitigation will be limited to 75 percent of the total eligible costs.? If Other Needs Assistance under Section 408 of the Stafford Act is later requested and warranted, Federal funding under that program will also be limited to 75 percent of the total eligible costs.

Further, you are authorized to make changes to this declaration to the extent allowable under the Stafford Act.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) hereby gives notice that pursuant to the authority vested in the Administrator, under Executive Order 12148, as amended, Michael L. Karl, of FEMA is appointed to act as the Federal Coordinating Officer for this major disaster.

The following areas of the State of Kansas have been designated as adversely affected by this major disaster:

Butler, Chase, Chautauqua, Coffey, Cowley, Dickinson, Elk, Grant, Greenwood, Harvey, Lyon, Marion, Sumner, and Woodson Counties for Public Assistance.

The counties of Barber, Barton, Clark, Comanche, Edwards, Grant, Haskell, Kearny, Kingman, Kiowa, McPherson, Meade, Pratt, Reno, Rice, Seward, Stafford, Stanton, and Stevens for emergency protective measures (Category B) under the Public Assistance program for any continuous 48-hour period during or proximate to the incident period.

All counties within the State of Kansas are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

The following Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance Numbers (CFDA) are...

Last Updated: 
07/17/2012 - 00:08
Back to Top