Initial Notice

Main Content
Date of Notice: 
Friday, June 19, 2009

Billing Code 9111-23-P


Federal Emergency Management Agency

[Internal Agency Docket No. FEMA-1847-DR]

Docket ID FEMA-2008-0018

Missouri; Major Disaster and Related Determinations

AGENCY: ?Federal Emergency Management Agency, DHS.

ACTION: ?Notice.

SUMMARY: ?This is a notice of the Presidential declaration of a major disaster for the State of Missouri (FEMA-1847-DR), dated June 19, 2009, and related determinations.

EFFECTIVE DATE: ?June 19, 2009.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: ?Peggy Miller, Disaster Assistance Directorate, Federal Emergency Manage?ment Agency, 500 C Street, SW, Washington, DC? 20472, (202) 646-3886.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION:? Notice is hereby given that, in a letter dated June 19, 2009, the President issued a major disaster declaration under the authority of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. 5121 et seq. (the ?Stafford Act?), as follows:

I have determined that the damage in certain areas of the State of Missouri resulting from severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding during the period of May 8-16, 2009, is of sufficient severity and magnitude to warrant a major disaster declaration under the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. 5121 et seq. (the ?Stafford Act?). Therefore, I declare that such a major disaster exists in the State of Missouri.

In order to provide Federal assistance, you are hereby authorized to allocate from funds available for these purposes such amounts as you find necessary for Federal disaster assistance and administrative expenses.

You are authorized to provide Individual Assistance and Public Assistance in the designated areas and Hazard Mitigation throughout the State. Consistent with the requirement that Federal assistance is supplemental, any Federal funds provided under the Stafford Act for Public Assistance, Hazard Mitigation, and Other Needs Assistance will be limited to 75 percent of the total eligible costs. ?

Further, you are authorized to make changes to this declaration to the extent allowable under the Stafford Act.

The time period prescribed for the implementation of section 310(a), Priority to Certain Applications for Public Facility and Public Housing Assistance, 42 U.S.C. 5153, shall be for a period not to exceed six months after the date of this declaration.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) hereby gives notice that pursuant to the authority vested in the Administrator, under Executive Order 12148, as amended, Thomas A. Hall, of FEMA is appointed to act as the Federal Coordinating Officer for this major disaster.

The following areas of the State of Missouri have been designated as adversely affected by this major disaster:

Adair, Barry, Barton, Bollinger, Cape Girardeau, Christian, Dade, Dallas, Dent, Douglas, Greene, Howell, Iron, Jasper, Jefferson, Laclede, Lawrence, Madison, Newton, Ozark, Polk, Reynolds, Ripley, St. Francois? Shannon, Texas, Washington, and Webster Counties for Individual Assistance.

Adair, Barton, Bollinger, Camden, Cape Girardeau, Cedar, Crawford, Dade, Dallas, Dent, Douglas, Greene, Hickory, Howell, Iron, Jasper, Knox, Laclede, Lewis, Madison, Maries, Marion, Miller, Newton, Oregon, Ozark, Perry, Phelps, Polk, Pulaski, Ray, Reynolds, Ripley, St. Francois, Ste. Genevieve, Saline, Shannon, Shelby, Stone, Sullivan, Texas, Vernon, Washington, Wayne, Webster, and Wright Counties for Public Assistance.

All counties and the Independent City of St. Louis in the State of Missouri are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

The following Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance Numbers (CFDA) are to be used for reporting and drawing fu...

Last Updated: 
07/17/2012 - 00:08
Back to Top