Mississippi Severe Storms and Tornadoes (DR-1764)

Incident period: April 4, 2008
Major Disaster Declaration declared on May 28, 2008

Updates and Articles, Blogs, and News Releases

June 6, 2008
News Release
CLINTON, Miss. -- FEMA inspectors have completed nearly 300 inspections for Hinds County residents whose homes sustained damage from the April 4 severe storms and tornadoes. The U. S. Small Business Administration and various insurance companies also have inspectors in the field.
June 6, 2008
News Release
CLINTON, Miss. -- Mississippi residents and business owners in the disaster-declared counties of Bolivar, Warren, Washington and Wilkinson who sustained damage due to the March 20 severe storms and flooding have four weeks to apply for disaster assistance through the Federal Emergency Management Agency. The last day applications will be accepted for disaster assistance is July 7. Loan applications to the    U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) for disaster-related losses must also be submitted by that date. 
June 4, 2008
News Release
CLINTON, Miss. -- A team of community relations specialists from the Federal Emergency Management Agency will be working with people affected by the tornadoes in Hinds County. The team will be canvassing the community to give people information about FEMA, Mississippi Emergency Management Agency and U.S. Small Business Administration programs that can help with temporary housing needs, repairs, low-interest loans and expenses not covered by insurance.
June 3, 2008
News Release
CLINTON, Miss. -- People who have applied for disaster assistance for losses sustained during the severe storms and tornadoes of April 4 may still be able to get help even if they have received a denial letter from the Federal Emergency Management Agency saying they are ineligible because they are insured. People who get such a letter should consider visiting the FEMA/State Disaster Recovery Center located at the Willie Morris Library, 4912 Old Canton Road, Jackson, to discuss details about their claim and to get advice after getting their insurance settlement papers.
June 2, 2008
News Release
CLINTON, Miss. -- Hinds County residents and business owners who suffered losses or damages as a result of the April 4 severe storms and tornadoes can meet face-to-face with disaster recovery specialists at the Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) located in the Willie Morris Library, 4912 Old Canton Road in Jackson, to follow up on their registrations. Storm victims are urged to register for assistance first by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). The TTY number is 1-800-462-7585 for those who are speech- or hearing-impaired.
May 28, 2008
News Release
Following is a summary of key federal disaster aid programs that can be made available as needed and warranted under President Bush?s major disaster declaration issued for Mississippi.


Main Content

Preliminary Damage Assessment

  • Mississippi, FEMA-1764-DR (PDF 37KB)
State/Tribal Government: 
Back to Top