Georgia Severe Storms and Flooding (DR-1761)

Incident period: May 11, 2008 to May 12, 2008
Major Disaster Declaration declared on May 23, 2008

Updates and Articles, Blogs, and News Releases

May 23, 2008
News Release
WASHINGTON, D.C. -- The head of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security?s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced that federal disaster aid has been made available for Georgia to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by severe storms and tornadoes during the period of May 11-12, 2008. FEMA Administrator David Paulison said the President's action makes federal funding available to affected individuals in the counties of Bibb, Carroll, Douglas, Emanuel, Jefferson, Jenkins, Johnson, Laurens, McIntosh, and Twiggs.
May 23, 2008
News Release
Following is a summary of key federal disaster aid programs that can be made available as needed and warranted under President Bush?s major disaster declaration. Assistance for Affected Individuals and Families Can Include as Required:


Main Content

Preliminary Damage Assessment

  • Georgia, FEMA-1761-DR (PDF 37KB)
State/Tribal Government: 
Back to Top