Maine Severe Storms and Flooding (DR-1755)

Updates and Articles, Blogs, and News Releases

May 10, 2008
News Release
Augusta, Maine - Residents of Aroostook County who experienced flood damage need to register with FEMA to receive federal assistance, even if they have already called 211 or contacted the Red Cross. Those affected can apply at or by calling toll-free 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., seven days a week until further notice. Those with speech or hearing impairment may call TTY 1-800-462-7585.
May 9, 2008
News Release
WASHINGTON, D.C. ?-- The head of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced that federal disaster aid has been made available for the state of Maine to help people and communities recover from the effects of severe storms and flooding beginning on April 28, 2008, and continuing.
May 9, 2008
News Release
Following is a summary of key federal disaster aid programs that can be made available as needed and warranted under President Bush's major disaster declaration. Assistance for Affected Individuals and Families Can Include as Required:


Incident period: April 28, 2008 to May 14, 2008
Major Disaster Declaration declared on May 9, 2008
Main Content

Additional Information

Preliminary Damage Assessment

  • Maine, FEMA-1755-DR (PDF 37KB) 
State/Tribal Government: 
Back to Top