Arkansas Severe Storms, Tornadoes, and Flooding (DR-1744)

Incident period: February 5, 2008 to February 12, 2008
Major Disaster Declaration declared on February 7, 2008

Updates and Articles, Blogs, and News Releases

February 29, 2008
News Release
LITTLE ROCK, Ark. -- Federal, state and local officials are aggressively seeking all available housing assistance options for Arkansas residents affected by the Feb. 5 tornadoes, said officials with the Arkansas Department of Emergency Management (ADEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). "Housing assistance is FEMA's number one priority," said Federal Coordinating Officer Ken Riley. ?"We have been successful in locating alternative rental resources within the local communities of residents who were displaced from their homes."??
February 26, 2008
News Release
LITTLE ROCK, Ark. -- For Donnie Fletcher and his family, the nightmare began the evening of Feb. 5 when storm clouds gathered and swirled for a fierce assault on the small town of Mountain View in Stone County. On that day, Fletcher says he began to grow worried when he heard the tornado warnings on the television. When sirens began to sound, family members from four households headed for the storm cellar Fletcher had built a few yards from his home.? His oldest daughter and her family came from 10 miles away, arriving just before the tornado struck.
February 26, 2008
News Release
LITTLE ROCK, Ark. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has approved a grant of $137,552 to the state's mental health agency to supplement state efforts to provide crisis counseling services for those affected by the Feb. 5 severe storms, tornadoes and flooding. The federal funds will support counseling in Izard, Sharp, Stone and Van Buren counties.  Counseling services in other counties will be funded by the state's mental health agency, the Division of Behavioral Health Services of the Arkansas Department of Health and Human Services.
February 25, 2008
News Release
LITTLE ROCK ? People who are not U.S. citizens may be eligible for disaster assistance for damage from the Feb. 5 tornadoes. Disaster assistance is available to residents and businesses in the counties of Baxter, Conway, Izard, Marion, Pope, Randolph, Sharp, Stone, Union and Van Buren. The aid is available to U.S. citizens, non-citizen nationals and qualified aliens. Qualified aliens include those with legal permanent residence (shown by green cards). Their status will not be jeopardized by requesting disaster assistance.
February 22, 2008
News Release
LITTLE ROCK, Ark. -- More than $3 million ($3,023,751) in federal aid has been approved to help support recovery efforts during the two weeks since President Bush declared a major disaster for the state of Arkansas due to the severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding of Feb. 5, state and federal disaster recovery officials reported today. Listed below are highlights of the disaster recovery efforts through Feb. 21.
February 21, 2008
News Release
LITTLE ROCK, Ark. -- Two additional Arkansas counties, Marion and Union, have been approved to receive federal disaster aid for individuals and families impacted by the Feb. 5 severe storms and tornadoes, state and federal disaster officials have announced. The additional federal assistance is the result of a recent amendment to President Bush's Feb. 7 declaration of a major disaster. Marion and Union counties have joined eight other counties already eligible to receive Individual Assistance:? Baxter, Conway, Izard, Pope, Randolph, Sharp, Stone and Van Buren.


Main Content

Preliminary Damage Assessment

  • Arkansas, FEMA-1744-DR (PDF 52KB)
State/Tribal Government: 
Back to Top