Iowa Severe Winter Storm (DR-1737)

Incident period: December 10, 2007 to December 11, 2007
Major Disaster Declaration declared on January 4, 2008

Updates and Articles, Blogs, and News Releases

January 30, 2008
News Release
DES MOINES, Iowa -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division (HSEMD) are partnering to help communities in 30 counties pay for debris removal, emergency services and other eligible work necessitated by the Dec. 10-11 severe winter storm.
January 17, 2008
News Release
DES MOINES, Iowa -- More snow this week will slow down the process of removing the debris created by the severe winter storm of Dec. 10-11, but the disaster recovery process is moving forward.
January 10, 2008
News Release
DES MOINES, Iowa -- Grants totaling more than $8.4 million dollars have been obligated to the State of Iowa by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) under its Public Assistance Grant Program.  This funding will reimburse state and local government agencies and certain eligible non-profit organizations with costs incurred for debris removal, emergency protective measures and the repair of public infrastructure damaged in the December storm.
January 4, 2008
News Release
WASHINGTON, D.C. -- The head of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security?s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced that federal disaster aid has been made available for Iowa to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by a severe winter storm during the period of December 10-11, 2007.
January 4, 2008
News Release
Following is a summary of key federal disaster aid programs that can be made available as needed and warranted under President Bush?s major disaster declaration issued for Iowa.  The assistance is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis in Adair, Adams, Appanoose, Cedar, Clarke, Clinton, Davis, Decatur, Fremont, Iowa, Jefferson, Johnson, Jones, Keokuk, Linn, Lucas, Madison, Mahaska, Marion, Monroe, Montgomery, Page, Ringgold, Taylor, Union, Van Buren, Wapello, Warren, Washington, and Wayne counti
Main Content

Preliminary Damage Assessment

  • Iowa, FEMA-1737-DR (PDF 52KB)
State/Tribal Government: 
Back to Top