New Mexico Severe Storms and Tornadoes (DR-1690)

Incident period: March 23, 2007 to March 24, 2007
Major Disaster Declaration declared on April 2, 2007

Updates and Articles, Blogs, and News Releases

May 2, 2007
News Release
CLOVIS, N.M. -- The U.S. Department of Homeland Security, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), the New Mexico Office of Emergency Management and the U.S. Small Business Administration, Office of Disaster Assistance, have approved more than $2 million in grants and loans in the 30 days since the Presidential disaster declaration was issued. Federal and state officials are encouraging anyone in Curry and Quay counties who has suffered damage from the recent tornado and severe storms to register for assistance.
April 30, 2007
News Release
CLOVIS, N.M. -- Quay and Curry county residents and business owners who sustained damage related to the March 23rd tornadoes only have one month remaining to apply for disaster assistance. June 1, 2007 is the last day applications will be accepted for individual assistance. Loan applications to the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) for disaster-related losses to real and personal property must also be submitted by that date.
April 20, 2007
News Release
CLOVIS, N.M. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA) Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) in Clovis and Logan will transition into U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) Disaster Loan Outreach Centers and will continue to provide assistance to disaster victims.
April 18, 2007
News Release
CLOVIS, N.M. -- The New Mexico Department of Labor is accepting applications for Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) from eligible individuals whose employment or self-employment has been lost or interrupted as a result of the recent tornadoes in Curry and Quay counties. The claims will be accepted until May 7, 2007. Claims filed after that date will be considered untimely and benefits denied, unless the individual provides good cause for late filing.
April 17, 2007
News Release
CLOVIS, N.M. -- Local volunteer attorneys, associated with the New Mexico State Bar Association, will be providing free legal assistance and counseling to individuals affected by the recent tornado and severe weather in Curry and Quay counties. The legal assistance program for disaster victims is implemented by the American Bar Association’s Young Lawyer’s Division under an agreement with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). Available assistance will include, but is not limited to the following –
April 11, 2007
News Release
CLOVIS, N.M. -- Applicants who received a denial letter stating that they are ineligible for disaster assistance can follow a process to appeal this decision, said recovery officials at the New Mexico Office of Emergency Management and the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). Common reasons for denial include: adequate insurance coverage; damage to a secondary home, not a primary residence; duplicate applications made from the same address; and inability to prove occupancy or ownership.


Main Content


State/Tribal Government: 
Back to Top