Hawaii Earthquake (DR-1664)

Updates and Articles, Blogs, and News Releases

November 30, 2006
News Release
HONOLULU, Hawaii -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has approved a $283,090 grant to the State of Hawaii to provide immediate crisis counseling services for those affected by the October 15 Kiholo Earthquake. Persons in need of these services can contact the Hawaii Crisis-Counseling-Immediate Services Program by calling (808) 333-1455 between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday.
November 28, 2006
News Release
HONOLULU, Hawaii -- With the deadline just three weeks away, officials urge homeowners, renters and business owners of The Big Island who sustained losses due to the October 15 Kiholo Earthquake to register for assistance now, if they have not already done so. Anyone still waiting on an insurance settlement, contractor’s estimate or any other part of the process is encouraged to register regardless of whether this information is yet available.
November 18, 2006
News Release
HONOLULU, Hawaii -- Residents of The Big Island who sustained damage in the October 15 Kiholo Earthquake but who have not registered for assistance are encouraged to act now. Register by logging onto www.fema.gov or by calling toll free 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired, from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. (local time), seven days a week through Nov. 19. Starting November 20, 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday. Closed Thanksgiving Day.
November 13, 2006
News Release
HONOLULU, Hawaii -- An applicants’ briefing for Maui County concerning the Federal Public Assistance Program is scheduled for 1 p.m. Wednesday, November 15, state and federal disaster recovery officials announced today. The briefing will be held from 1 to 3 p.m. at the Maui County Emergency Operations Center, 200 South High Street, Wailuku.
November 10, 2006
News Release
HONOLULU, Hawaii -- New Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) will open in Honoka’a and Na’alehu, and DRCs in Waimea and N. Kohala will remain open additional days, State and Federal disaster-recovery officials announced today.
November 8, 2006
News Release
HONOLULU, Hawaii -- Maui County and the City and County of Honolulu are now eligible for additional public infrastructure assistance associated with the October 15 Kiholo Earthquake, officials of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and Hawaii State Civil Defense (SCD) announced today. Additional categories of Public Assistance for these two counties have been authorized by an amendment to President Bush's disaster declaration of October 17.


Incident period: October 15, 2006 to January 15, 2007
Major Disaster Declaration declared on October 17, 2006
Main Content

State/Tribal Government: 
Back to Top